Verification:

To set the amount of area the utility reads to verify the wipe method, select the Verification check box. Because verification is a long process, you may specify a percentage of the surface to be verified. To wipe or erase without verification, clear this check box.

Retry Attempts:

To specify the number of retries to do when an error is encountered, enter the number in Retry Attempts.

Ignore Errors:

To hide error messages while data wiping, erasing or verification is in progress, select the Ignore Errors check box. To show all error messages during wiping, erasing or verification, clear the Ignore Errors check box. All errors are written to the session log in either case.

Clear Log File before Start:

To truncate the session log before erasing or wiping starts, select the Clear Log File before Start check box. To append this sessions information to the existing session log, clear the Clear Log File before Start check box.

Skip Confirmation:

The confirmation dialog box is the final step before either erasing or wiping data. To bypass this dialog box, select the Skip Confirmation check box. To include this safety step, clear the Skip Confirmation check box. It is safer to run Active@ KillDisk with this check box cleared (default state).

Initialize device(s) after Kill:

This check box appears only when you are erasing data from a disk. Before you can use a disk, you must initialize it. To initialize a disk as a basic disk automatically after the erasing process, select this check box. To initialize a disk as a basic disk manually, clear this check box.

Wipe unused space in MFT/Root area:

This check box appears only when you are wiping data from unused space on the drive. To clear data residue from unoccupied space in the MFT (Master File Table)/Root area on the drive, select this check box. To skip this area, clear the check box.

Wipe slack space in file clusters:

This check box appears only when you are wiping data from unused space on the drive. For a more thorough wiping of data residue from unused portions of clusters without touching existing data, select this check box. For a quick process, clear this check box.

boot disk note

For more detailed instructions and support, see the Active@ KillDisk User Guide.